Morton, IL – Members of Josh Wright’s small group planned an intervention to deal with his addiction to pumpkin spice.  Member of the group, Grace Jones, expressed real concern for his condition: “It’s gone too far.  He carries a small container of McCormick’s Pumpkin Pie Spice in his pocket.  He specifically excuses himself to the restroom with his coffee to add more, not just at our house, but at church too.”

“When we run together his sweat smells like nutmeg and cinnamon,” said Grace’s husband, Joe.  “It’s kind of pleasant, but he must be at high levels of toxicity.”

Josh’s wife, Sarah, was really concerned about him during the Morton Pumpkin Festival:  “During the 4-day event he didn’t even come home.  I am not even sure where he slept most of the time.  I know he was in a park one night, because Grace saw him sleeping on a bench with his face on a pie.”

After the festival, the group felt like Josh would listen after hitting rock bottom.  Josh explained, “I am thankful that my friends, and Christian brothers and sisters, helped me to see this idol controlling my life and interfering with my relationship with God and others.  I feel so free now.  I was able to focus on other ice creams at the store today.  Do you know they have eggnog ice cream?!  I have also heard there is an eggnog coffee!”


Photo Credit: JeepersMedia Flickr via Compfight cc

Leave a Reply

