Kansas City, MO – Justin Roberts was having serious doubts about biblical inspiration and authority due to following the promises in Proverbs.  He explained, “The Bible seemed like a waste of my time.  I devoted so much time to its writings, and lived my life exactly like it instructs, but God was not living up to His word.”

Roberts found a number of promises not working out like he hoped:  “I’ve avoided an adulteress, but the wife of my youth is still as bitter as gall.  And what about blessings from being faithful?  That didn’t work out.  I lost my job.  To make matters worse, I was tending my fig tree, and it was not providing any fruit.”

Even Roberts’ wife was starting to have doubts after their adult son started getting into legal trouble.  “How can he be departing from the way he should go?” she said.

Thankfully, Roberts’ faith was restored by his friend sharing Proverbs 27:15-16 with him:  “A quarrelsome wife is like a constant dripping on a rainy day; restraining her is like restraining the wind or grasping oil with the hand” (NIV).


 

Photo Credit: Bobby McKay. via Compfight cc

Leave a Reply

