Hackensack, NJ — A local woman describes her life as a “shambles” even though she spends hours each day creating and sharing encouraging messages on social media.

“The world’s messed up and I just wanted to bring some light into the darkness,” said Bonnie Squall, a 38-year-old wife and mother of three. “Since I’m home with my kids most of the time, I didn’t feel like there were a lot of opportunities for me. But memes seemed like something small I could do that could, you know, make a difference for someone.”

Squall began making and sharing memes seven months ago.

“It was just before Christmas, a season when people are really busy and don’t have time to think about God. So I took a picture of my Bible on the dining room table with a coffee cup and a notebook next to it. Kind of like I was doing a Bible study, you know? I added the words, ‘Come to me all you who are weary’ and shared it on my Facebook. A lot of my friends ‘liked’ it so I thought, OK, maybe I need to do more of this. Like a meme ministry.”

Squall initially posted a meme each week but picked up the pace in January.

“I made a New Year’s resolution to make three memes every week. It blew up after that.”

By February, Squall was making and sharing dozens of memes each day. Some have gone viral.

“I’m pretty proud of my outreach,” Squall said. “One of my favorite memes has a picture of a fly caught in a spider’s web and the words ‘I can do all things.’ The idea is that, even though the fly is stuck, he might still get out if he tries hard enough. That one got liked and retweeted a lot.”

But with the hours it takes to create the messages, Squall has had time for little else.

“We make our own breakfast and lunch now,” said four-year-old Oliver, Squall’s youngest child. “Dad usually takes us out for dinner. Or we have hot dogs. Or cold cereal.”

“I think mom vacuumed in March,” said Squall’s twelve-year-old daughter, Annie. “She’s on the computer for, like, 15 hours every day. She might take breaks to get a Diet Coke or a PopTart but we do all the chores and housework now. I’m not even sure if she bathes regularly—she uses a lot of perfume.”

“It’s true,” admits Squall. “My family thinks it’s turned into an obsession. I don’t think that’s good. Maybe I should make a meme about that. Some parts of my life are pretty much a shambles now but, still, this is my ministry and I know it makes a difference.”

Squall’s husband, Mark, could not be reached for comment.

By Michael Gowin


 

Photo Credit: Krasimira Nevenova via Compfight cc

Leave a Reply

