On Thursday, worship guitarists were distraught from Australia to America.  After a lengthy legal battle, The Edge won exclusive rights to use the delay sound in “Where the Streets Have No Name” and “I Still Haven’t Found What I Am Looking For.”

“I am going to just sell my delay pedal,” guitarist Cody Paul said tersely.  He continued, “How could he do this to us?  He is our hero.  The Joshua Tree is loved by all.  Now, I have to sell my pedal to pay for a Talk Box.  I don’t believe Richie Sambora would obtain exclusive rights to the sound in ‘Livin’ on a Prayer.’  Peter Frampton wouldn’t allow it.”

Tom Wright of Australia indicated a different direction due to the court ruling.  “I’m selling my pedal and getting an external reverb unit like Dick Dale.  There is no way he will win a court battle before he dies.  The problem is all this staccato picking is really making me tired.  It was so much easier when the delay did the work for me.”


 

Photo Credit: Federico Ratier via Compfight cc

Leave a Reply

